Thank You, Mr. Bender

• Seeley_Cathy-100x140 by Cathy Seeley, NCTM President 2004-2006 
    NCTM News Bulletin, November 2005 (PDF)

November is a month for giving thanks, so I would like to thank my seventh-grade math teacher, Mr. Bender. I’m not sure I realized it at the time, but Mr. Bender’s mathematics class changed my life.

Throughout my elementary school experience, I was a mediocre student in arithmetic. That’s what we called elementary school math back then. I didn’t like memorizing facts and doing all those calculations, so I didn’t learn 9 × 6 until long after I was supposed to, and my scores on the Iowa Test of Basic Skills were predictably lackluster.

But in seventh grade, I entered Mr. Bender’s math class. The textbooks we used that year were red paperbacks. I found out later that this was the era of new math, but at the time, I just thought the books were different and kind of cool. What I remember most about that year is not the books, but Mr. Bender introducing me to the world of mathematics. He showed me that mathematics is much more than arithmetic. He helped me discover the beauty of geometry, and to see mathematics all around me. He helped me solve different kinds of math problems, not just one- or two-sentence word problems. He pushed me to think about mathematics by using parts of my brain I didn’t know I had. He challenged me, he motivated me, he inspired me, and he planted a seed that grew into a decision to pursue a mathematical path.